Yesterday I had my first experience in Benevolent Authoritarianism.

To explain, I was leaving work to go teach some English and noticed one of my students walking the other way with another girl from the village.

“You’re not coming to class?” I asked.

“Haha, no we’re going to the internet room.”

“Hmm, I said…” Then I walked into the internet room (downstairs in the mayoralty) and told the guy running it at that time that there were two girls outside and to not let them use the internet until 5pm, when my classes would be done. I then walked back outside to the students.

“You can’t use the internet until 5pm, I’ll open it for you, come to class.”

We all laughed and then they came to class, which was a pretty good session.

Good times.

Also, this morning was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

